Located in the heart of the charming wine-producing village of Santar, 15 minutes away from Viseu, Casa de Santar e Magalhães is a good example of the mannerist civil architecture, combining both baroque and neoclassical features.
Although it has suffered innumerable additions throughout the centuries, it is not easy to distinguish the various construction phases because there has always been a concern to harmonize the new additions with those previously built.
In the 18th century, a new longitudinal body was added to the house. Around 1727, Francisco Lucas de Melo, son of the first Francisco Lucas de Melo, began the construction of the wineries, the central courtyard and the imposing fountain known as the Fonte dos Cavalos, completed in 1790. In the centre, the coat of arms of the house is displayed under the water that flows from a grotesque mask to a granite drinking fountain. Later the fountain would become decorated with panels of tiles signed by Pereira Cão.
In the 19th century, on the side facing the garden, a running balcony is built supported by Tuscan columns and decorated with welcoming figures in tile representing the Four Seasons. From the beginning of the 20th century, a new addition is made to the house: a closed gallery also facing the garden and the tiles signed by Pereira Cão that cover the walls of the hall.
José Luís and Pedro Vasconcellos e Souza, heirs of this vast cultural and historical heritage, are the founders of the Santar Garden Village project, along with the Ibérico Nogueira and Portugal Loureiro families.
LocationGoogle MapsSocial mediaFacebookInstagram